Homesick

After a weekend at home it’s getting harder to return to Cleveland. The “newness” of the experience and the adrenaline rush that goes with it are fading.  It reminds me of the end of my Chief Resident year.  Although I am not an accomplished endovascular surgeon, I understand the technology enough to quote BB King,  “Thrill’s gone.”  Now comes the necessary tempering that takes the ingot from the mold and hammers it into the sword.  As I have noted before, there is no substitute for volume and that is true in my case as well.  Time and repetition are necessary elements of any new skill.  I remember Marc Granson describing one of the attributes of a good tennis player as “someone willing to hit the same shot over and over again.” Patience required. More so in endovascular work than in open surgery.  This was quite evident on a case last week when my efforts to access the right femoral system from the left side were met repeatedly with my “well placed” guidewire flipping out of the right iliac artery.  A maneuver that I had accomplished numerous times in an identical manner was now appearing to be impossible.  My skill set was subsequently expanded in a quantum leap when my tech leaned over and whispered “try the floppy glide instead.” Duh!

The Rad Techs have been a tremendous asset to me.  Jumping into the morass of products in the endovascular world has been made safer by their impressive awareness of “what works with what and what will fit through what”.  Hundreds of products and compatibilities that all seem to sound the same to me are apparently quite obvious to them.  It’s humbling.

I have discovered a new route to the hospital in the morning.  taking the 55th Street exit from Route 77 has added a bit of variety to the routine.  This takes me through some of the less affluent sections that have seemingly evolved over time.  Some of the churches along this route are haunting reminders of a more grandiose era.

image

image

We actually do get some sunshine in Cleveland.  The weather this morning was bordering on hot (69 degrees at 6am).

image

Today I’m scheduled for an arteriogram on a recent bypass patient because the surgeon was not satisfied with the proximal inflow at the time of surgery.  Perhaps we will add an iliac stent.  I’m aso awaiting my new leaded glasses which are scheduled for delivery today.  I’ll have to “re-fit” them with my add on bifocals.

Back in Bethlehem this weekend we were caught up in the whirlwind of the home sale process.  The six hour commute (each direction), Home Inspections, touring rental options and considering eventual permanent locations made for an exhausting 48 hours. We have Finances to figure out, movers to arrange, rentals to decide, an ailing dog to be nursed and packing to begin – all to be finalized in 30 days.  What a perfect time for my wife Jill to be called for Jury duty!  Good thing we are young and spry!! Can’t imagine this all could happen in the days before cell phones, FaceTime and the internet. I think technology might save our marriage through this process.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment